Service to VRA Award

Call for Nominations
Service to VRA Award

VRA is pleased to announce its annual recognition of excellence in service in this Call for Nominations for the Service to VRA Award.


Who can Nominate?

Individual members are invited to nominate candidates for the Service to VRA Award.  Please note that current members of the VRA Board of Directors are not eligible to nominate candidates or sign letters of support for nominees.


Timelines for Nominations

You have until April 15, 2018 to send nominations to


Content of Nominations

In order to be considered by the Board of Directors for a Service to VRA Award, each nomination must be supported by a minimum of two letters of support.  Collectively, these letters should address the criteria for the award by including examples of activities with the time frame and the significance of the activity.

The Service to VRA Award is granted to one (or more) individual who is a member of VRA and has made a significant contribution to the work of VRA. This contribution would normally be made over a period in excess of two years; however individuals who have performed in exemplary fashion during a shorter period of time may receive the award. The nomination is to include examples of demonstrated experience or activity and specify the time frame and significance of this activity.

While work at a society or local level will be considered in determining the award, the individual’s contribution should be predominantly at the national level or produce national benefit.  Contributions may take the form of service on the VRA Board of Directors or a committee of VRA, publications, organizational development initiatives, management of programs and projects or international representation relevant to VRA.